Join Early Retirement Today

The Universe has a warped and perverted sense of humor (long)
Old 11-02-2006, 02:31 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

The Universe has a warped and perverted sense of humor (long)

The other day in this topic, I said that I'm a lot more relaxed about money thanks to our cushion and savings.

So naturally, the Universe had to go and test that statement. DH called earlier to tell me his boss has announced the company will be closing its doors as of December 31, 2006.

I should say that DH does highly technical software engineering, and there are not many jobs in that category available here in Las Vegas. So, we're going to be moving a bit sooner than we had planned.

I'll keep working at this job until it's time to quit and prep for the move. I'm a paralegal and can do legal secretarial or general secretarial work as well, so I'm not real concerned about finding a job -- I can always temp.

How does this affect our FIRE plans? Depends on how quickly DH finds another job and where, as well as what the housing situation is in the new place. (We have about $250,000 in equity in our current home.)

All sorts of fun planning in the works for me now. Thanks for "listening."
peggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!